How to Draw a Baboon

In this quick tutorial you'll learn how to draw a Baboon in 7 easy steps - great for kids and novice artists.

The images above represent how your finished drawing is going to look and the steps involved.

Below are the individual steps - you can click on each one for a High Resolution printable PDF version.

At the bottom you can read some interesting facts about the Baboon.

Make sure you also check out any of the hundreds of drawing tutorials grouped by category.

How to Draw a Baboon - Step-by-Step Tutorial

Step 1: First, draw the shape of the baboon's face. It should look like a long letter U.

Step 2: Now let's give your face a little more detail. Draw two circles for the eyes, two long lines with a squiggly line at the bottom for the nose, and a curved line for the mouth.

Step 3: Next, finish drawing the head. Draw a horizontal line at the top of the face, then draw a large circle around the outside.

Step 4: Now draw the body and tail. Draw a long horizontal line with two curved lines at the end.

Step 5: Draw the baboon's hind leg. Baboons have long and muscular hind legs, so make sure the lines are curved.

Step 6: Now draw the belly and the front leg. The front leg is straighter and less muscular than the hind leg, and the belly is a short line connecting the front and hind legs.

Step 7: For your last step, finish the details of the body by adding the last two legs.When you're finished, color your baboon. Baboons have tan or brown bodies and very brightly colored faces, sometimes with different patterns on them. Many times the faces have red in them. Pick some colors and be creative with your patterns!

Interesting Facts about Baboons

Baboons are primates (monkeys) that are native to Africa. They live in various habitats. Some species live in forests. They all sleep in trees or rocky cliffs to protect themselves from nocturnal predators such as leopards. Baboons also need to live near water sources.

Did you know?

  • There are five different species: the olive baboon, the Guinea baboon, the yellow baboon, the Chacma baboon, and the Hamadryas baboon.
  • The lifespan of baboons is about 20 to 30 years.
  • Baboons can weigh between 50 to 100 pounds.
  • There five different species of baboons.
  • Baboon cheeks are like pouches, and they store food in them.
  • Baboons are usually olive, grey, yellow, brown, silver, or black.
  • Baboons eat plants and animals. They usually eat fruit, seeds, flowers, insects, eggs, and lizards.

Baboons are sociable creatures that live, and even sleep together, in groups of about 50 to a few 100 members, called troops. They groom each other as a way to bond and keep each other clean of parasites. Troops also travel together, averaging abut 5 to 6 miles a day. Baboons communicate with 30 different vocalizations, as well as with body language. Just like human families, troops are bonded for life.